Tag Archives: olivia grey

Serialized YA Romance

Starting today, BMP author O. M. Grey is serializing her YA Steampunk paranormal romance novel The Zombies of Mesmer for your reading pleasure. Each week, a new installment will go live, all in preparation for the sequel: Stakes & Steam set for a summer 2013 release by Blue Moose Press.

Although she’s already serialized this title in audio format, she wanted those who didn’t listen to podcasts a chance to read her book in time for the sequel’s release this summer.

Get your copy of The Zombies of Mesmer today.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, News

Four-Fold Twitter Approach

O. M. Grey wrote a guest post for Erotic Romance Publishers on Christine Rose’s Four-Fold Twitter Approach.

Excerpt:

Sex sells. At least that’s what we hear over and over again, and it does to an extent. Erotica sells quite well to a specific audience, but then mystery sells well to a specific audience, too. With over 950 books being published every day in the USA alone, the trick is getting your book seen by that specific audience. The key to Twitter and any social network is finding that specific, or niche, audience and making a personal connection with each and every person. The more you can identify and connect with your niche market, the more successful you will be. The more you can build and maintain relationships with that following, the better your sales will be.
I’ve been on Twitter since 2009. Under my original name, @christinerose, I made the top 100 authors on Twitter for 2009, sharing that title with names like Neil Gaiman and Meg Cabot. It was quite the honor. I learned how to use Twitter relatively early, before it became the massive social network it is today. I now have over 10,000 followers on both that account and @omgrey.
Since 2009, social networking has become part of daily life, both professionally and personally, for millions of people around the globe.
A harsh reality: No one cares you wrote a book unless you are already a well-known author. However, the people who already care about you as a person or colleague are interested that you wrote a book. Social networking is building an extended family and professional base, people who care about YOU. When they care about you, they’ll be interested in your books.
Social networking isn’t about marketing your book. It’s about marketing YOU. Brand yourself, not your book, as it won’t be your only book, likely. Your Twitter name, FB profile/page, blog, etc., should all be your author name, not your books. Not your characters. YOU.

Read the rest HERE!

Leave a comment

Filed under News

O. M. Grey’s Inspiration

The Siren’s Song, the blog for Sirens Call Publications, published a guest post by O. M. Grey today for their Horror of Steampunk series. Olivia discusses where her inspiration comes from, especially for “Love is for the Living,” the short story in Sirens Call’s anthology Bellows of the Bone Box.

Check it out!

Excerpt:

Inspiration for stories sometimes comes from the strangest places. A dream. A conversation. A relationship. A fleeting thought. Writing prompts. An image. A movie scene or snippet of dialogue. Historical events. Surviving trauma. A broken heart. Betrayal. I’ve written stories that have come from all of these and more.

Inspiration for a story is definitely the first step. Ideas. I’ve come across so many emerging authors who are terrified people will steal their ideas.

Ideas are a dime a million.

Creating something with those ideas is where the real work, and some say talent, comes in. At a Steampunk convention on the Queen Mary, we did a writer-in-the-round exercise where the moderator gave us a basic plot or beginning sentence, and we had to take it from there for three minutes. At the end of each writer’s turn, the next writer had to pick up where the last left off. It was a fascinating exercise, as each writer took the story in an entirely different direction and with a different style and voice than I would have. The discussion afterward proved that each author felt the same way.

Ideas, that spark of inspiration, are the first step, but a step does not a journey make.

Read the rest HERE!

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Nickie’s New Look!

Today we officially unveil the new cover for O. M. Grey’s The Zombies of Mesmer. This glorious cover was done by J. R. Fleming, the same cover artist for Caught in the Cogs: An Eclectic Collection and Christine & Ethan Rose’s Power of the Zephyr. J. R. Fleming will also be doing the cover for Zombies’ sequel: Stakes & Steam, due out Summer 2013.

Follow Nicole Knickerbocker Hawthorn (Nickie Nick) as she discovers her destiny as The Protector, a powerful vampire hunter. Ashe, a dark and mysterious stranger, helps Nickie and her friends solve the mystery behind several bizarre disappearances. Suitable for teens, enjoyed by adults, the story is full of interesting steampunk gadgets, mad scientists, bloodthirsty vampires, and mesmerized zombies. This paranormal adventure is sure to appeal to fans of Boneshaker, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and The Vampire Diaries.

In addition to the new look, we’re proud to say that we’ve also updated the interior. Unfortunately, the original printing of this book was far below our normal standards, and for that we apologize. The number of mistakes within was inexcusable. Even though we used a new editor we will not be using again, it was still our responsibility to ensure the quality. Our apologies, again.

Most of those mistakes have now been fixed, certainly not all, no doubt. We will continue to improve our editing process, catching as many of those as possible before publication.

The Zombies of Mesmer is currently being serialized in podcast form on O. M. Grey’s blog, and in a few weeks, she’ll be serializing it on her blog, Victorian style. Stay tuned!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, News

BMP Author Wins Award! Again!

O. M. Grey won the Steampunk Chronicle’s Readers’ Choice Award for best short story, second year in a row! This year the story is “A Kiss in the Rain.”

From her blog:

I’m so very thrilled to announce that my short story, “A Kiss in the Rain” won the Steampunk Chronicle’s Reader’s Choice Award! This is the second year in a row I’ve had the honor to win in that category. Last year was for “Dust on the Davenport,” as well as Avalon Revisited for best novel.

Read more here.

Congrats Olivia!

Leave a comment

Filed under News

O. M. Grey in New Anthology

Olivia Grey has a short story in yet another anthology. She’s on fire!

This one is called “Love is for the Living,” and it’s a dark and horrific erotic Steampunk story. Check it out!

More about Bellows of the Bone Box:

The Steampunk and Horror genres are masterfully combined in the twelve stories contained within Bellows of the Bone Box. Each of the authors has transported you to an age where steam is the dominate means of power and has woven a tale that will fascinate, or possibly scandalize you. In this volume, you will find clockworks, pneumatic tubes, airships, and leather worn out of necessity – not vanity. Can an engine be powered by human blood; should it be? What about body modification; what happens when the mechanical meets the biological and goes awry? Does the heart rule the machine, or does the machine consume the humanity that once existed within it? What of airships, regeneration, or hallucination; is it safe to trifle with such things? Should technology that can rift time and dimensions be researched; and if that research proves fruitful, should it ever see the light of day? Packed full of intrigue, imagination, and horror, lovers of Steampunk will have a hard time deciding which of the twelve is their favorite!

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Serialized Audio Fiction

Don’t have time to read? Listen to your books? Then our authors’ serialized podcasts are for you!

Christine Rose has serialized her award-winning MG/YA fantasy series Rowan of the Wood. She’s currently in the middle of the sequel, Witch on the Water. Best news for readers…it’s free! Follow her podcasts here.

O. M. Grey has also serialized her YA paranormal romance The Zombies of Mesmer in podcast format, along with a few episodes of her short fiction and poetry. Follow her fiction podcasts here!

Can’t beat free fiction! As always, if you enjoy their work, consider supporting the author by purchasing one of their books or short stories. Here are the BMP author links on Amazon where you can find novels and short fiction, alike!

Also available author-signed direct from the publisher or author.

Leave a comment

Filed under News