Tag Archives: kindle

Serialized YA Romance

Starting today, BMP author O. M. Grey is serializing her YA Steampunk paranormal romance novel The Zombies of Mesmer for your reading pleasure. Each week, a new installment will go live, all in preparation for the sequel: Stakes & Steam set for a summer 2013 release by Blue Moose Press.

Although she’s already serialized this title in audio format, she wanted those who didn’t listen to podcasts a chance to read her book in time for the sequel’s release this summer.

Get your copy of The Zombies of Mesmer today.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, News

Four-Fold Twitter Approach

O. M. Grey wrote a guest post for Erotic Romance Publishers on Christine Rose’s Four-Fold Twitter Approach.

Excerpt:

Sex sells. At least that’s what we hear over and over again, and it does to an extent. Erotica sells quite well to a specific audience, but then mystery sells well to a specific audience, too. With over 950 books being published every day in the USA alone, the trick is getting your book seen by that specific audience. The key to Twitter and any social network is finding that specific, or niche, audience and making a personal connection with each and every person. The more you can identify and connect with your niche market, the more successful you will be. The more you can build and maintain relationships with that following, the better your sales will be.
I’ve been on Twitter since 2009. Under my original name, @christinerose, I made the top 100 authors on Twitter for 2009, sharing that title with names like Neil Gaiman and Meg Cabot. It was quite the honor. I learned how to use Twitter relatively early, before it became the massive social network it is today. I now have over 10,000 followers on both that account and @omgrey.
Since 2009, social networking has become part of daily life, both professionally and personally, for millions of people around the globe.
A harsh reality: No one cares you wrote a book unless you are already a well-known author. However, the people who already care about you as a person or colleague are interested that you wrote a book. Social networking is building an extended family and professional base, people who care about YOU. When they care about you, they’ll be interested in your books.
Social networking isn’t about marketing your book. It’s about marketing YOU. Brand yourself, not your book, as it won’t be your only book, likely. Your Twitter name, FB profile/page, blog, etc., should all be your author name, not your books. Not your characters. YOU.

Read the rest HERE!

Leave a comment

Filed under News

O. M. Grey’s Inspiration

The Siren’s Song, the blog for Sirens Call Publications, published a guest post by O. M. Grey today for their Horror of Steampunk series. Olivia discusses where her inspiration comes from, especially for “Love is for the Living,” the short story in Sirens Call’s anthology Bellows of the Bone Box.

Check it out!

Excerpt:

Inspiration for stories sometimes comes from the strangest places. A dream. A conversation. A relationship. A fleeting thought. Writing prompts. An image. A movie scene or snippet of dialogue. Historical events. Surviving trauma. A broken heart. Betrayal. I’ve written stories that have come from all of these and more.

Inspiration for a story is definitely the first step. Ideas. I’ve come across so many emerging authors who are terrified people will steal their ideas.

Ideas are a dime a million.

Creating something with those ideas is where the real work, and some say talent, comes in. At a Steampunk convention on the Queen Mary, we did a writer-in-the-round exercise where the moderator gave us a basic plot or beginning sentence, and we had to take it from there for three minutes. At the end of each writer’s turn, the next writer had to pick up where the last left off. It was a fascinating exercise, as each writer took the story in an entirely different direction and with a different style and voice than I would have. The discussion afterward proved that each author felt the same way.

Ideas, that spark of inspiration, are the first step, but a step does not a journey make.

Read the rest HERE!

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Nickie’s New Look!

Today we officially unveil the new cover for O. M. Grey’s The Zombies of Mesmer. This glorious cover was done by J. R. Fleming, the same cover artist for Caught in the Cogs: An Eclectic Collection and Christine & Ethan Rose’s Power of the Zephyr. J. R. Fleming will also be doing the cover for Zombies’ sequel: Stakes & Steam, due out Summer 2013.

Follow Nicole Knickerbocker Hawthorn (Nickie Nick) as she discovers her destiny as The Protector, a powerful vampire hunter. Ashe, a dark and mysterious stranger, helps Nickie and her friends solve the mystery behind several bizarre disappearances. Suitable for teens, enjoyed by adults, the story is full of interesting steampunk gadgets, mad scientists, bloodthirsty vampires, and mesmerized zombies. This paranormal adventure is sure to appeal to fans of Boneshaker, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and The Vampire Diaries.

In addition to the new look, we’re proud to say that we’ve also updated the interior. Unfortunately, the original printing of this book was far below our normal standards, and for that we apologize. The number of mistakes within was inexcusable. Even though we used a new editor we will not be using again, it was still our responsibility to ensure the quality. Our apologies, again.

Most of those mistakes have now been fixed, certainly not all, no doubt. We will continue to improve our editing process, catching as many of those as possible before publication.

The Zombies of Mesmer is currently being serialized in podcast form on O. M. Grey’s blog, and in a few weeks, she’ll be serializing it on her blog, Victorian style. Stay tuned!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, News

O. M. Grey in New Anthology

Olivia Grey has a short story in yet another anthology. She’s on fire!

This one is called “Love is for the Living,” and it’s a dark and horrific erotic Steampunk story. Check it out!

More about Bellows of the Bone Box:

The Steampunk and Horror genres are masterfully combined in the twelve stories contained within Bellows of the Bone Box. Each of the authors has transported you to an age where steam is the dominate means of power and has woven a tale that will fascinate, or possibly scandalize you. In this volume, you will find clockworks, pneumatic tubes, airships, and leather worn out of necessity – not vanity. Can an engine be powered by human blood; should it be? What about body modification; what happens when the mechanical meets the biological and goes awry? Does the heart rule the machine, or does the machine consume the humanity that once existed within it? What of airships, regeneration, or hallucination; is it safe to trifle with such things? Should technology that can rift time and dimensions be researched; and if that research proves fruitful, should it ever see the light of day? Packed full of intrigue, imagination, and horror, lovers of Steampunk will have a hard time deciding which of the twelve is their favorite!

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Second Edition Released!

Blue Moose Press is so proud to release the second edition of Christine Rose’s Publishing & Marketing Realities for the Emerging Author.

Here is what people are saying about this book:

“I read the book in two days and recommended it this week at a presentation I made to the Bay Area Writers League.  It is a gem for independent authors.  Thank you.” ~Larry Watts, Emerging Author

“This book gives readers a look into an author’s life while simultaneously imparting invaluable advice. It turns reading what could have otherwise been a dry textbook into an exciting learning experience. Needless to say, I highly recommend Publishing & Marketing Realities for the Emerging Author to everyone who wants to be published…The lifetime benefits as a writer that you’ll receive from this book far outweigh the small price you pay for it.” ~Rachel Brooks, Emerging Author (full review)

“Christine’s book offers a thorough, fresh, and honest look at both traditional and self publishing options. Reading it is like sitting down and having coffee with a good friend who’s in the know about the publishing industry.”
~Evelyn Lafont, author of The Vampire Relationship Guide, Volume One.

“Christine Rose’s book is mandatory reading for anyone who is thinking about writing a book, in process or has just completed one. As a successful, published author, Christine shares a treasure trove of information about marketing and publishing in a witty, concise manner. A mind-boggling world awaits. Let Christine’s guidance help you to get your work into the right hands.” ~ Caroline Kirby, emerging author.

“This should be required reading for emerging authors.” ~ TS Tate, freelance editor.

“This is the one that will guide you through the jumble of today’s publishing options. Packed with practical information, the writing is fast-paced and to the point. No fluff, just facts. A must for every writers reference library. This author has experienced it all, and she graciously reviews the entire process enabling you to realize potential and practical options for your book. I bought the Kindle version and stayed up to read it. Couldn’t put this one down.” ~N. Bright via Amazon.com Reviews

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, News

Story to Benefit Hurricane Sandy Survivors

Our very own O. M. Grey has contributed a story for the We Love New York: A Romance Anthology to Raise Funds for Hurricane Sandy Relief by Riverdale Ave Books. Her story is called “For the Love of a Book,” and it’s a beautifully unconventional love story. In fact, it’s not only in the anthology, it opens the anthology!

Get your copy today!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, News