Off To College Is Too Late For The Consent Talk

This is an extremely important article to read for everyone, especially parents and educators.

The conversation about consent must be started years before the conversation about sex.

Thomas, as always, remains my hero.

I am a fan, and a friend, of both Amanda Hess and Heather Corinna, and it should come as no surprise that I think this piece in Slate is really useful.  However, the preface to Amanda’s interview situates it with college back-to-school season.  From a news standpoint, this makes sense.  The US media is belatedly and rightly focused on colleges mishandling sexual assault (Emma Sulkowics’s performance art activism at Columbia is the latest story to get broad coverage). But from a parenting perspective, it’s an easy, comforting and wrong way to analyze it.

Heather Corinna, who has been down this road more times than I can count with interviewers much less savvy and receptive than Hess, positions consent and bodily autonomy as a lifelong process and a part of parenting that starts in the diaper stage.  Hess had the good sense to let Heather get her ideas out.  In my…

View original post 2,582 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under News

New Release: Avalon Revamped

ARvmpd-FrontCoverToday the long-awaited sequel (of sorts) AVALON REVAMPED is officially released to the public both in Kindle and paperback versions. Go. Right now! Order yours and you can have it immediately (on Kindle) and by tomorrow with overnight shipping in paperback.

About Avalon Revamped:

Arthur Tudor, a vampire for nearly four-hundred years, finds himself bored with life and love, yet again. His tolerance for his newly-turned girlfriend Avalon wanes, and he’s on the prowl for fresh blood to drink and succulent flesh to pierce. While investigating a series of mysterious disappearances, the couple comes face to face with Constance, a succubus committed to exacting justice for violated women. The supernatural trio joins forces to stop a serial rapist and murderer. Set in Victorian London, this Steampunk horror novel is about justice, retribution, and redemption.

Let true justice prevail…

C. L. Stegall, author of The Blood of Others, says this about Avalon Revamped:

Every once in a while I get the opportunity to read a piece of work that makes me think, “This is the one the will put this author on the map of the reading world.” Avalon Revamped is that book for O. M. Grey. It deals with some horrific truths and should be read by every person on the planet. It is a great adventure, with serious underpinnings that elevate it into a higher realm of genre literature.

Still haven’t read Avalon Revisited? It’s high time! It not only won the Steampunk Chronicles’ Readers’ Choice Award in 2012 for best novel, it also was an Amazon Gothic Romance best seller! You can get your copy from Riverdale Ave Books, on Amazon.com, or on a variety of eBook formats. Or, if you prefer to listen to your books, there’s an audio version of Avalon Revisited available via AudioRealms.

Still not convinced? Read what others have said about her scribblings.

Find O. M. Grey’s other works for purchase, and even some for free, and view her complete works all on the pages of her blog.

Explore! Comment! Buy!

And, above all, share on your networks and with your friends.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Serialized YA Romance

Starting today, BMP author O. M. Grey is serializing her YA Steampunk paranormal romance novel The Zombies of Mesmer for your reading pleasure. Each week, a new installment will go live, all in preparation for the sequel: Stakes & Steam set for a summer 2013 release by Blue Moose Press.

Although she’s already serialized this title in audio format, she wanted those who didn’t listen to podcasts a chance to read her book in time for the sequel’s release this summer.

Get your copy of The Zombies of Mesmer today.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, News

Four-Fold Twitter Approach

O. M. Grey wrote a guest post for Erotic Romance Publishers on Christine Rose’s Four-Fold Twitter Approach.

Excerpt:

Sex sells. At least that’s what we hear over and over again, and it does to an extent. Erotica sells quite well to a specific audience, but then mystery sells well to a specific audience, too. With over 950 books being published every day in the USA alone, the trick is getting your book seen by that specific audience. The key to Twitter and any social network is finding that specific, or niche, audience and making a personal connection with each and every person. The more you can identify and connect with your niche market, the more successful you will be. The more you can build and maintain relationships with that following, the better your sales will be.
I’ve been on Twitter since 2009. Under my original name, @christinerose, I made the top 100 authors on Twitter for 2009, sharing that title with names like Neil Gaiman and Meg Cabot. It was quite the honor. I learned how to use Twitter relatively early, before it became the massive social network it is today. I now have over 10,000 followers on both that account and @omgrey.
Since 2009, social networking has become part of daily life, both professionally and personally, for millions of people around the globe.
A harsh reality: No one cares you wrote a book unless you are already a well-known author. However, the people who already care about you as a person or colleague are interested that you wrote a book. Social networking is building an extended family and professional base, people who care about YOU. When they care about you, they’ll be interested in your books.
Social networking isn’t about marketing your book. It’s about marketing YOU. Brand yourself, not your book, as it won’t be your only book, likely. Your Twitter name, FB profile/page, blog, etc., should all be your author name, not your books. Not your characters. YOU.

Read the rest HERE!

Leave a comment

Filed under News

O. M. Grey’s Inspiration

The Siren’s Song, the blog for Sirens Call Publications, published a guest post by O. M. Grey today for their Horror of Steampunk series. Olivia discusses where her inspiration comes from, especially for “Love is for the Living,” the short story in Sirens Call’s anthology Bellows of the Bone Box.

Check it out!

Excerpt:

Inspiration for stories sometimes comes from the strangest places. A dream. A conversation. A relationship. A fleeting thought. Writing prompts. An image. A movie scene or snippet of dialogue. Historical events. Surviving trauma. A broken heart. Betrayal. I’ve written stories that have come from all of these and more.

Inspiration for a story is definitely the first step. Ideas. I’ve come across so many emerging authors who are terrified people will steal their ideas.

Ideas are a dime a million.

Creating something with those ideas is where the real work, and some say talent, comes in. At a Steampunk convention on the Queen Mary, we did a writer-in-the-round exercise where the moderator gave us a basic plot or beginning sentence, and we had to take it from there for three minutes. At the end of each writer’s turn, the next writer had to pick up where the last left off. It was a fascinating exercise, as each writer took the story in an entirely different direction and with a different style and voice than I would have. The discussion afterward proved that each author felt the same way.

Ideas, that spark of inspiration, are the first step, but a step does not a journey make.

Read the rest HERE!

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Rowan of the Crisp

20130430-161352.jpgDylan Kirkpatrick holds his creation–a cereal based on our book Rowan of the Wood, part of his school project in 4th grade at Moss Haven.

Dylan chose Rowan of the Wood for his book report and loved the book. He told us that one of his friends asked to borrow it after he finished, read it straight through, and is now bugging him for the sequel Witch on the Water, which Dylan is currently enjoying. Now, four more of his friends are in line to read Rowan of the Wood! Here’s hoping they get tired of waiting and buy their own copy!

Part of the book report was an oral presentation, and the other part was to create a cereal based on the book. Dylan created Rowan of the Crisp. On the back of the box is a maze game so you can help Cullen navigate through the redwood forest to find the wand while you enjoy your delicious bowl of Rowan of the Crisp. The free toy surprise inside the cereal box is a magic wand! See it sticking out of the top? That one was hand-carved by co-author, Ethan Rose.

This entire story has inspired me to reach out to middle grade teachers and librarians. Author Christine Rose would like to send classrooms and libraries a free copy of Rowan of the Wood along with some lesson plans so they can incorporate it into their curriculum. So, if you are a teacher, librarian, or educator, please don’t hesitate to contact us for your free copy to share with your class. If you choose to buy a set for your classroom, you will get an educational bulk discount.

We love to hear that children of all ages enjoy Rowan of the Wood. Perhaps the series has a new life ahead just in time for the fifth and final book, Spirit of the Otherworld, to be released later this year.

Get your own copy of the award-winning fantasy Rowan of the Wood.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, News

Nickie’s New Look!

Today we officially unveil the new cover for O. M. Grey’s The Zombies of Mesmer. This glorious cover was done by J. R. Fleming, the same cover artist for Caught in the Cogs: An Eclectic Collection and Christine & Ethan Rose’s Power of the Zephyr. J. R. Fleming will also be doing the cover for Zombies’ sequel: Stakes & Steam, due out Summer 2013.

Follow Nicole Knickerbocker Hawthorn (Nickie Nick) as she discovers her destiny as The Protector, a powerful vampire hunter. Ashe, a dark and mysterious stranger, helps Nickie and her friends solve the mystery behind several bizarre disappearances. Suitable for teens, enjoyed by adults, the story is full of interesting steampunk gadgets, mad scientists, bloodthirsty vampires, and mesmerized zombies. This paranormal adventure is sure to appeal to fans of Boneshaker, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and The Vampire Diaries.

In addition to the new look, we’re proud to say that we’ve also updated the interior. Unfortunately, the original printing of this book was far below our normal standards, and for that we apologize. The number of mistakes within was inexcusable. Even though we used a new editor we will not be using again, it was still our responsibility to ensure the quality. Our apologies, again.

Most of those mistakes have now been fixed, certainly not all, no doubt. We will continue to improve our editing process, catching as many of those as possible before publication.

The Zombies of Mesmer is currently being serialized in podcast form on O. M. Grey’s blog, and in a few weeks, she’ll be serializing it on her blog, Victorian style. Stay tuned!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, News